I'm always trying plants that aren't considered hardy where I live
(94 votes, 48%)
Red dot

What's a zone?
(9 votes, 4%)
Red dot

Previous Polls

Hughesville, MO(Zone 5a)

I've lost too much money, wasted too much effort and time on plants not known to be hardy here to bother with it anymore. Now I try to only do plants even one zone hardier than us if possible.

This message was edited Tuesday, Mar 4th 4:16 AM

I try everything I can. When my hardy banana musa basjoo didn't pull through last year, it only made me want to try other things that shouldn't grow in NH either. I don't get too attached to plants outside. An empty hole only means more annuals!

New York City, NY(Zone 6b)

I'm just starting out in gardening so I am being conservative about what I plant.

My garden site has a sheltered area in which there is, essentiallly, no wind. My thinking is that, with proper soil conditioning and mulch, this area could support some slightly more tender perennials. As I gain more experience I might give it a try.

Adam.

This message was edited Sunday, Mar 2nd 11:20 PM

"down the Shore", NJ(Zone 7a)

It is intriguing, how, with the vast variety of plant material perfectly hardy for one's zone, the borderline hardy plants seem more attractive. I love my Camellia, and Crape Myrtles, and telling people who admire them in bloom, well, they don't really grow here, but...

I do push the zone, and sometimes not by design. Cannas, callas, gingers, left undug in fall surprise me with encore performances the next spring.

I keep vowing no more tropicals, but the house is full of Brugmansias and Elephant Ears... So in addition to pushing the zone, there are those tender ones which help swell their ranks...

John

Ypsilanti, MI(Zone 5b)

For health reasons I have to pace myself when I'm gardening, so I try to make sure what i plant is for my zone area. But, sometimes I like to try soething out of the ordnary!

Dundee, OH(Zone 5b)