Springtime in December

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

I'm new to Frederick MD (zone 6 - I was in zone 10 for years) and this fall I spent a bundle on bulbs, which I planted around Thanksgiving ... and some of them are coming up now. I'm particularly dismayed about some irises that are up about 6 inches. Last spring some narcissus came up early and a neighbor told me that as long as no buds had formed they would still bloom. But that was a comparatively short time span - my iris aren't supposed to bloom until June. What does a bulb do when it's halfway out and then it freezes for several weeks? Is there anything I can do at this point, like pile on more mulch? I tried talking to them, but they aren't listening. (I just checked the 10-day forecast and there's a week of sunny 60s ahead.)

Shenandoah Valley, VA

They should be fine. This happens nearly every year in my garden when we get our usual crazy weather. I've never had it hurt the blooms. You need to worry a bit more about late spring freezes that happen just as everything is about to bloom than you do bulbs sprouting in winter.

And my irises stay up most of the winter. They're pretty hardy plants and it doesn't hurt them.

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

Oh, good! Thank you for that, hart.

Shenandoah Valley, VA

Be careful about mulching irises. They'll rot.

Must be quite a switch for you gardening in such a new zone. It's really not that unusual for us to get warm spells even as late as December. I remember the first Christmas I was married (back when dinosaurs roamed the earth) and my new inlaws came to Virginia from way upstate NY. It was about 75 on Christmas day and I couldn't convince them this was unusual. It was the south, you see, so it had to be warm.

Of course they were also convinced that I grew up sitting on the veranda in my hoop skirts sipping mint juleps.

Crozet, VA