Crepe Myrtle softwood success!

I'm so excited... today I found out that my 80 softwood crepe myrtle cuttings have rooted! You can read about the technique used here: http://davesgarden.com/gj/dave/viewentry/7693.html

Dave

Port Huron, MI(Zone 5b)

Hey Dave...
CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!
Now, are you going to part with any cuttings or would you consider sharing some unrooted cuttings.
Sandy

This message was edited Sunday, Jul 15th 11:41 AM

Hi Sandy,

I'll be happy to part with some cuttings, but after they get a little bit more mature. Right now they are so new, I'd be afraid to ship them. This fall will be the perfect time for sending trees out in trades.

Dave

Chatham-Kent, ON(Zone 6a)

They won't make it in Sandy's zone , Dave . He needs the hardiest source available from a USDA Z5/6 . I know because I have been experimenting for the last 3 or 4 years now AND I live approx. 35 miles south of Port Huron .
It is always great when success is achieved Dave...GREAT STUFF !! Rock On !

Lyles, TN

Dave: Congratulations on such good sucess at rooting. Don't want to bring anybody down, here, just be carefull about "blowing" off the rooting powder. It usually says "tap" on the instructions because the powder is a no-no to inhale. We all need you to stick around, Dave :)

Thanks Chooch, I didn't even think to look at Sandy's zone. :(

Ivey: Thanks for the info - I'll tap from now on.

Troy, VA(Zone 7a)

Dave what colours do you have (or will have)? Congrats. great success!!

louisa: Watermelon red, white, and lavender.

Dave

Troy, VA(Zone 7a)

You can have anything that I've got Dave if you will save me a lavender!!!!!

Lavender is our favorite, too. I'll be sure to set a good one aside for you.

Troy, VA(Zone 7a)

Thanks Dave that would be wonderful - I have collected quite a few shrubs and perennials now - is there anything in particular that you would like. Also have Liriodendron tulipa if you need trees.

Franktown, CO(Zone 5a)

Congrats Dave! I knew you could do it.