Hoping For The Best

Paris, TX(Zone 8a)

Today, I did something I've never done before. My aunt gave me a neglected plant. She's been having health problems, and hasn't felt like working with her plants lately. She gave me a spider plant,,,the kind with solid green leaves. I had mentioned loving my verigated, and wishing I had a solid one. She told me she had one and I could have it. I was expecting some baby plants, but it was the whole thing. It was terribly out of shape, and the only way I saw to get it back, was to repot each little plant separately. Later I plan to put together in the same pot, but in a better shape, but for now, I have spider plant sections lining my porch rail.

I had to separate each section, by teasing the roots apart with my fingers, I planted the indivisual ones, but there were some that wouldn't separate. Instead of forcing them apart, I just potted them together. There were a couple of babies, that I potted up....so you see....I've had quite a day. I've never fooled with a plant's roots before, so I'm hoping I didn't do any permanant damage. I know that spiders are very strong, hardy plants, so maybe things with be fine. Time will tell...

Dallas, TX(Zone 8a)

I think they will be fine! I had one that I kept forgetting to water- on a neglected side of the house. Anyway, it pretty much died 2 or 3 times and I kept "brining it back to life." I would dump out the whole plant and cut off EVERYTHING. So I had a massive rootball and nothing else. Each time I had new growth sprout up from the roots. The third time I wanted two plants so I literally RIPPED it in half and stuck each half in it's own basket. I have 2 now and they are fine. So, not that I recommend what I did, but I think if I didn't kill mine you surely didn't kill yours! LOL!

Winnipeg, MB(Zone 4a)

You did fine. Spiderplants are a tough cookie.
:) Donna

Paris, TX(Zone 8a)

They have the thickest roots, don't they? It was really quite interesting.