Anyone started winter sowing yet?

Dallas, TX(Zone 8a)

Since our growing season starts pretty early, I started last night. I have never done winter sowing before, so we will see what happens! Last night I put out coleus, cosmos, purple coneflower, four o'clocks, cleome, celosia and touch me not. Tonight I put out dianthus (strawberry parfait and raspberry parfait), columbine (salmon/yellow and lemon), purple meadow rue and multicolor mini zinnias. I have a few others to try but I am going to stagger this a little bit. I'm trying not to get my hopes up- not that I think it doesn't work, but I doubt my own abilities. Ha!

So what have you put out yet? Or what are you planning?

So.App.Mtns., United States(Zone 5b)

Well, I DID have a plan for winter sowing. Then last week my landlord told me he plans to rebuild the upstairs deck, wrapping around the corner now, and a 10 x 15 garden shed under it... right where I have all my bulbs, herbs, and sun-loving perennials. I had planned to sow some seeds there too, but why now?

Dallas, TX(Zone 8a)

Well that's not cool! Don't you love when landlords decide to start fixing things and bettering the property when it's NOT convenient for you... but God forbid you ASK them to do something. Then it never happens. So is he a gardener too or is that shed supposed to be for your benefit? Can you dig up your bulbs and stuff before he does that?

Shed will be for both... he's a landscaper. I'm hoping he won't have the $ to build until late summer/early fall. By then my stuff will be up and I'll have an idea of the shade pattern to know where I can move them. I just fear that the shed will go in the only somewhat sunny spot available.

He's NOT a gardener, does just low maintainance landscape plants.

Lakemont, GA(Zone 8a)

I have sowed heirloom petunias and Rose of Sharon.

Plano, TX(Zone 8a)

Hey, Jamie, how did you sow yours? In plastic bottles?

Dallas, TX(Zone 8a)