Red dot

I have better luck with non-organic products
(4 votes, 3%)
Red dot

Other?
(2 votes, 1%)
Red dot

Previous Polls

I voted sometimes organic, sometimes not. I think this one could well be a hot topic. Having worked in a land based industry as a professional I have particular views on this subject.

On the whole I find that many organic principles and theories work well in the garden, once in place, they are more effective and easier to work with than conventional methods. Even so, I'll not be getting rid of the slug pellets or brushwood herbicides just yet, we use these for very specific areas and problems and not indiscriminately.

We were lucky we started out with a blankish pallette for a garden since it hadn't been touched for a couple of decades, the wildlife were pretty much already in place. Even so, it took a good 3 years for the beneficial insects to find their way to the garden in numbers large enough to actually help out with the insect pests.

We feel that carefully planned and sensitive management is the key to a healthy, well balanced garden, whether you use soley organic methods or not.

Scotia, CA(Zone 9b)

I use whatever works. Sometimes a blast of water on aphids works better than chemicals and egg shells and copper help with snails but until I have enough of both to do the job I will also use chemical protection as needed. I prefer organic fertilizers over chemical ones, good old compost and manure seems to make most things happy and cost less too. I also buy ladybugs to release if aphids get to be a real problem because not only do they eat them but they are just so downright cute!

For larger pests like moles or gophers I prefer traps since the poisons work their way on up the food chain and can continue to kill the hawks, fox, cats etc that feed on them.

San Francisco, CA