6' x 6' raised bed salad garden box. (My hope)

Smithers, Canada

Hi everyone from the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I am a newbie when it comes to container box gardening. My hopes are to have 6 container boxes built for growing my Northern Alpine Garden veggies. Sadly however, this Summer will not see my hope fulfilled, as my dear husband is so busy with his work, we have little time left to do anything other than attend to business. Ah well, sweet thing that he is, he approached me this morning over our coffee, and wondered if it would help me to overcome my disappointment, if he created a 6' x 6' garden box, close to our home and kitchen area, which at this point in time would be easy access to water, lots of wonderful sunshine, etc. He suggested that just for this year I could develop a wonderful little garden box, to provide us with fresh organic veggies for salads.

I am very excited about the idea, and wonder if any other kind and experienced container gardeners out there, would help me by sharing some of their valuable and much appreciated expertise, in this type of gardening. Fresh salads around our house contain lettuces, various types, green onions, radishes, perhaps carrots, raw green peas, etc., etc. Is it possible to grown these types of veggies all together, do they need support from companion plants, flowers, etc. Can I do a continuous planting of new crops when and as they get eaten?

Thank you in advance. Any helpful advice with be greatly appreciated.

I so look forward to hearing from you.
warmest regards
myalpinegarden.

Camano Island, WA(Zone 8a)

Sure, here are my thoughts on it, for what they are worth...

You might change that to a 4' X 8' bed so that you can reach the center more easily. otherwise, you will really be stretching!

You are pretty far north, so you might also consider that the Pacific Northwest climate people often talk about is different from your climate. Here is Wikipedia's take on your climate: