Any other volunteer observers for NWS and CoCoRaHS?

Irvine, KY(Zone 6a)

I am new to Dave's Garden and just exploring a few forums. I have been a NWS Co-op observer for several years and also CoCoRaHS observer. I live in east central Kentucky, about 40 miles SE of Lexington. Part of my interest in weather is related to anticipating rains that bring the Red River (which borders our farm) into flood so that we have no access in and out.

Our bridge crosses a creek that is a tributary of the Red River, and may go under water if rain is sufficient. The weekend we moved here (or attempted to) in 2004 was the second highest recorded crest on the river. My husband and daughter had to go in and out by jon boat for 6 days. I had just retired, so was happy to stay here during that time since house is on high ground.

Ozone, AR(Zone 6a)

Hi sunfarm, Welcome to DG.
We've been having temps at 0 or below for several days. We are supposed to have a gradual warm up in the 30,s the next week.We have'nt broken any records except duration records.
I live on a mountain in the Arkansas Ozarks abt 30 miles from town.Still have snow on the ground.
We retired outhere in the middle of nowhere and love it.
I'm intrested in weather also.More so in theory tho. And natural observational weather.
Always helps to have your house on high ground. LOL
Vickie

Ozone, AR(Zone 6a)

There was practically no snow melting today.Still more school closings for tomorrow.A couple of schools had frozen than broken water pipes. We are learning the hard way what northern people have known forever. 0 degree temps are not good for people,pets,or pipes. Hopefully they are bad for ticks,chiggars, and other pesky bugs.I have heard a hard winter kills them. Hope so.
Vickie

Irvine, KY(Zone 6a)