General Question about Ornamental Grasses

(Chris) Des Moines, IA(Zone 5a)

First off, I don't have a clue what type of grasses we have..they came with the place :) I know that it's two different kinds though..I believe 2 are fountain grasses and they get about 3 ft tall, with the spikes hitting around 4 1/2', but the middle one, I don't know..when the "leaves" are 3'-4' tall, they kinda corkscrew, but the tufts look like the fountain grass.

I normally don't cut them back until spring when I first see some new green shoots coming up. My question is: is there something else I can do to make them grow taller? Should I not cut them back? I don't think I have any pictures and I've already cut them back for this year LOL..

Would anyone like to hazard a guess that I'm new to gardening?? :)
thanks for any input you can give me!
Chris

Piedmont, SC(Zone 7b)

I have Golden Sedge that I have never cut back. I planted Red Fountain Grass last year but it has not started coming up yet. I am hoping it will. I just planted it at the end of summer.

Bardstown, KY(Zone 6a)

Chris, I cut or burn my old grasses from last year each March. The new growth comes from the roots anyway so cutting them back will not hurt and may encourage denser growth.

Doug

Vicksburg, MS(Zone 8a)

We cut our pampas grass quite low each year and I use an iron rake to rake out all the lose stuff left in the clump. I also cut back my smaller ornamental grasses (Hamlin). As postmandug stated, I also believe it encourages new, thicker growth.

Thanks for all the input! I'm glad to know that my cutting them back is good for them and I'll do as NatureLover and rake out all the loose stuff in it.

How far back to you normally cut yours back? From Doug's comment about burning them, it sounds like he goes basically back to the ground. Does anyone else go that far down too?