what are these weeds?

Lilburn, GA

Hi,

I am getting spots in the garden where thorny bushes, a bit like blackberry bushes, are spreading. They are also hard and woody.

Another kind i am getting is a bush that has heart shaped flat leaves. It also has woody branches and is spreading fast.

I tried digging them up but am finding it impossible. Is there a safe way to get rid of these weeds? Would weed killer get rid of them?

Thank you for any help:o)

Lula, GA(Zone 7b)

Spider, I think you'll need to post pics. At least for me; I'm not that good at guessing just based on description.

Lilburn, GA

Hi,

I will take some pictures tomorrow during the day.:o)

Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

There are several Solanaceae (nightshades) that resemble your first description. What comes to my mind is "horse nettle" http://www.ppws.vt.edu/scott/weed_id/solca.htm which is a real pain. It resembles scrawny eggplant with purple to white flowers and yellow to orange berries. Is this looking like it?

Lilburn, GA

Hi Maypop,

No, these look lovely.

I took some photos and will be posting them as soon as possible.

My neighbour grows these flowers by his mail box.:o) I had no idea they are weeds.

Lilburn, GA

first weed

Thumbnail by Spider07
Miami, FL(Zone 10a)

That first "weed" looks like Cercis, the Redbud tree.

Here's a link:
http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/showimage/119958/

Lilburn, GA

this one is very woody and thorny and looks a bit like black berry plants.

Thumbnail by Spider07
Miami, FL(Zone 10a)

The thorny one looks like wild raspberry to me.

Lilburn, GA

this is more like a climber.

This computer is sooooo slow....:o(

Thumbnail by Spider07
Lilburn, GA

Hi LariAnn,

thank you for your help.

Is with wild raspberry supposed to have berries? This one does not flower nor have fruits.

Lilburn, GA

Hi again,

I checked the first link and you are right! I can't believe people buy it.

Grrrr... I can't get rid of them. They are everywhere!

Miami, FL(Zone 10a)