Bamboo - favorites???

Pensacola, FL

I'm new to bamboo, having been an ornamental grass enthusiast for 20 years now. I've loved the look and versatility of bamboo, especially in play with ornamental grasses, but to this point have never grown them commercially. Any suggestions on varieties to start playing with for fun, and also those that seem to have more common market value as well. Thanks for any input.

Sarasota, FL

I'm not sure what zone you're in. 9-A? Are there clumping bamboo growing around that you see? These are the more often than not more tender species. Culms grow fairly close together. Clumpers are not considered invasive. In bad winters where you live, they'd freeze to the ground. I really like Alphonse Karr. Mine all died when they flowered 2 yrs ago. They make great plant stakes, at least. It's a beautiful plant, not too tall, I've only seen them 15 ft high. Cream with green stripes and pink.
One friend makes flutes from the culms; they're thin enough but strong.
Running species have flat sides alternating on each side of the culm: node, internode flat on left side, node, internode flat on right side and so on.
You can take cuttings of mature clumpers right now.

San Diego, CA(Zone 10b)

Karlfoerster, noting how long ago you began this thread, I hope this helps. I am sold on Otatea acuminata aztecorum or Mexican Weeping Bamboo. It's a clumper and grows maybe 15'. You'll love it's graceful movement as it easily moves with the wind. It's beautiful when backlit. An added bonus, it's drought tolerant. Here's a close shot of my plant. You can see the grassy leaves. This plant takes a couple of years for taller shoots to appear, but when it takes off you'll get taller and more abundant shoots each year.

Thumbnail by zone10
Fort Lauderdale, FL(Zone 10b)