How do you make a Night Blooming Cereus bloom?

Deland, FL & Hot Spr, AR

I have a night blooming cereus in both FL and AR. The one in AR winters in our sunroom and the one in FL winters in our home. Both are taken outside in the summer and are watered via automatic sprinklers. I know this plant blooms, as this is my grandmother's plant and I saw it bloom years ago. Also, I found photos that my brother had taken after he brought the plant to Florida. Unfortunately, I am the last of the family and don't have anyone to ask what they did to it.

Central, AL(Zone 7b)

Hi JeanK, I'm new to NBC, being a lucky recipient of such lovely cuttings last year. So technically I'm a newbie myself. Here is the forum that you would more likely find more help with seasoned growers of NBC and their related species. Good lucks.
Kim
http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/f/episetc/all/

Ayrshire Scotland, United Kingdom

Hi jeank, to y knowledge, these plants very rarely flower in pots, your right that when they do flower, it is at night as the moths, bats and other night feeding insects pollinate them and feed off the pollen, they flower in June/July when really large, but that is normally too big for a pot plant or indoor plant. wish I could help you more. but who knows, this I am told are difficult to grow seem to do great, but easy to grow, well that's another story eh. Good luck. WeeNel.

Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)

I have kept these for years and never saw a bloom. They would grow large and unmanageable and I would tire of them. Last summer I left them sitting outside, in bright light, receiving an occasional shower but neglecting watering them. To my surprise I found quite a few buds, then blooms in late Sept.

One Epi grower suggested stirring cut up banana peels into the top soil. They are a high potassium fertilizer which should help with blooms. I am trying that for next year... but maybe I just got lucky...