what type of compost bin to get?

Hampton Roads, VA(Zone 7b)

I'm new to DG and to composting. I really want to compost but have some limitations...I'm hoping y'all can provide some direction.

I live on a very small--I'm talking postage stamp here--urban lot with rigid association rules. (We bought this home BEFORE my addiction to dirt and plants.) I have a little spot, about 4' x 3', where I could have a compost pile/bin, so long as it was unobtrusive. That spot receives the tiniest sliver of early morning sunlight.

My other limitation would be my DH's unhappiness with throwing food scraps outdoors that would invite critters. So something very contained would be better than an open pile.

I've researched bins, and the stacking type looked like a possibility. But overall, most of the bins seemed to be lacking in one way or another. Suggestions?

Also wondering if anyone has modified their own?

Fredericksburg, VA(Zone 7b)

We use pallets for our bins, but this is not as my DH calls them " a communist community". Check thru the composting threads there's a lot of information on which commercial composters work best. Food scraps only include things like, egg shells, veggie peelings, coffee grounds etc. NO MEAT, NO DAIRY. A working compost bin has no odor other than an earthy type smell. Just like turning fresh dirt.

You're so lucky to plant and dig in freedom! We purchased home with intent to resale in 5 or so years--only one more year to go! :)

I have been extra diligent about not putting anything except those food items you mentioned, doccat. And I try to bury it well. I personally have not come across any 'critters' but DH is convinced it's a bad thing, hence something covered to keep both of us happy. ;)

Thanks for the feedback...gonna continue searching.