Brugs

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

I'm cutting back mine. If you want cuttings to root, dmail me. Some are named varieties, others were at some but the labels have been lost, and others I am not sure of.

Metro DC, MD(Zone 7a)

Please splain what you're going to do with yours, H_M. This is my first year w/ brug's and I'm going back and forth on whether to cut them back or just haul the pots down to the cellar to go dormant/semi-dormant...

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

Ms. W: I've been researching that very question. I have had one brug for probably 5 years; I just brought it inside and treated it as a house plant and it did fine. Last year I cut it way back in the fall and treated it as a house plant -- it also did fine, and was far more convenient in shape. It leafed out again very nicely. I just read the following on a website that addressed brugs: "In most cases, woody-stemmed tropicals should not be cut back until early spring (unless you can't fit them into the house!)." But I'm going to ignore that advice unless someone tells me otherwise, since pruning was so successful for me last year.

I also have read many reports that it is ok to overwinter brugs in a garage: "Let the plants rest in a cool place (40 to 50 degrees F) with little or no light—they'll get the message that winter has arrived and their leaves will gradually yellow and drop. The plants can then spend the winter in an unheated basement, root cellar, unheated garage, or even a cool closet. Make sure the area is relatively dark (try enclosing the whole pot loosely inside a heavy black trash bag) and that the air temperature stays above freezing." Mine are all in pots, so I'll leave them in the pot. Some reports say to occasionally water a bit.

I'm planning on doing both the house plant and garage treatment.

I understand they get mites badly; I'm mulling over whether to use a systemic insecticide, and if so, which one.