Fresh manure

Berkeley, CA(Zone 9a)

I have decided I really need manure for my veggie garden. There are stables near by where I can get all I need. Question. Should I spread it over my garden now and let it sit over the winter, or do that and put clear plastic over it, or store it in black plastic bags and let it sit in them over the winter?

Helena, MT

dun1kirk, I'm fairly new at this gardening business, but this is what I have done...I apply fresh horse manure in the fall and disk it in immediately for several reasons: (1) Cuts down on horse flies, (2) keeps the neighbors happy, and (3) it is much easier to work with in the spring.

I had a soils analysis performed by a certified soils lab after tilling in the manure and the results came back too high on nutrients, but by spring planting time conditions were perfect.

I also have a covered compost bin (4'w x 8'l x 4'h) for extra manure which I turn occassionally with a pitch fork and hose it down each time I turn it. This tends to break up the biscuits and makes it easy use as compost in the spring.

I had some left over from the compost bin this year which I stored in plastic bags inside 35 gallon plastic barrels. However, I believe by the time I use it next spring there will be little nutrient value left. The ammonia nitrogen in the horse manure tends to volatilizes over time, especially if you overwork the composting or tilling process, so I keep these activities at a minimum. It is still a good as a soil conditioner. The organic nitrogen left has some fertilizer value as it is release slowly over time and won't burn the plants.

Since I live in a glacial valley where the 'soil' is basically clay and rock, I have had to use a lot of horse manure to get a viable soil. Other people in the area which have tried gardening with horse manure told me their crops burned or turned yellow. Fortunately this method has worked well for me.

Hope this helps.

Ozark, MO(Zone 6a)