American Goldfinch

Louisville, KY(Zone 6b)

Hi,

This is my first time on this forum. I would like to know if anyone out there loves the American Goldfinch? It is my favorite bird and the two in my yard are bright yellow. They are really loving my Rudbeckia Indian Summer. I have seen them in the front and back yard. Everytime I run to get the camera , they are gone. I do not fill the bird feeders any longer. Had a possum in my back yard a month ago, digging in one flower bed--big time. I trapped him in a live animal trap and took him to a wooded park, 20 miles from my home. I have also had mice in my attic, three years ago and the exterminator told me not to fill the bird feeders in my back yard--as that would attract more mice . The mice are gone and the bird feeders are no longer filled.

Marlton, NJ

We of course LOVE the American Goldfinch! I don't have that many here because of such a large population of House Finch but do see a few everyday at the 4 thistle feeders I now have up.
That's ashame you had to take down your feeders but there are plenty of plants & flowers that they like.
The bright yellow ones are the males and the duller ones are females.
Heres some info on them.
http://www.birds.cornell.edu/AllAboutBirds/BirdGuide/American_Goldfinch.html

Welcome to the Bird Watching Forum!!

Louisville, KY(Zone 6b)

Thanks Pelletory,

I did not know the bright yellow ones are the male. I have tons of flowers for them to enjoy and I have also seen them on my Zowie Zinnas. Thanks for the Hyperlink. I will check that out now. Still trying to get a picture of these beauties!!!!

Thumbnail by BettyFB
Whidbey Island, WA(Zone 7a)

Lovely photo, Betty - and you will find more lovers of goldfinches than you can imagine on this forum!!!!! Hope you can get a picture soon.

Here's three visiting my sunflower seed feeder a few days ago.

Thumbnail by Murmur
Louisville, KY(Zone 6b)

pelletory