Jasmine sambac

Fredericksburg, VA(Zone 7a)

I have a pot of Jasmine sambac that is getting ready to bless me with the best blooming since I've had this plant (at least four years).

I just wanted to share with you all. Can't wait 'til the blooms open! It's gonna smell heavenly out there on my balcony! I just hope the peak of bloom isn't while I'm on vacation.

This photo was taken four days ago...

Thumbnail by VA_Wild_Rose

And this is from this morning, looking down on the plant...

Thanks for letting me share...

Karen

Covington, LA(Zone 8b)

Beautiful plant. I never could get mine to fill out. It bloomed for several years but was a stick. Wonderful smell, though.
Johanna

It started blooming when I was gone on vacation, so I missed the first blooms.

This is what I came home to though... my balcony smells heavenly!

Close-up of bloom...

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

Just beautiful. Looks so healthy. How do you overwinter your jasmine?

Hi Snowrose! Thanks!

I just bring it in the house and give it a bright location. I had it under gro-lights last winter, and it continued to bloom almost all winter. I've moved to an apt with a southern exposure now, so I'll probably just sit it in a sunny location.

It has been ssooo hot and dry (but terribly humid) here this summer. It is getting about six hours of super-hot sun where it's at right now, and seems as happy as a lark! I've been giving it a good bit of MG when I water, and I haven't let the soil get dried out.

Our heat index here today is 113!!! I have to admire my balcony from the sliding door (closed!) now! I just can't take that kind of heat anymore!

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

You are having the same weather we are. Man is it hot! Thanks for the growing information. You have encouraged me to give it a try.

Another pretty bloom up close... (smells so nice! wish it wasn't 100 degrees on my balcony!)

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)