Botany Quiz: Saintpaulia (African Violet) was named for whom?

There are a total of 351 votes:

For Baron Walter von Saint Paul-Illaire, 19th century German soldier
(91 votes, 25%)
Red dot

As a tribute to Paul the Apostle
(83 votes, 23%)
Red dot

For Anna Paulownia, daughter of Russian Tsar Paul I
(16 votes, 4%)
Red dot

For Simon Paulli, 17th century German botanist and physician to the King of Denmark
(140 votes, 39%)
Red dot

For Ionantha, a nymph in Greek mythology
(21 votes, 5%)
Red dot

Previous Polls

Northumberland, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)

It wasn't named for anyone – it was named after Baron Walter von Saint Paul-Illaire.

i.e., in his honour, not at his request. An important grammatic distinction that too many people appear to have lost.

Resin

Amelia Island, FL(Zone 9a)

I got it right!! I love African Violets - think they are all so very beautiful. I am not very good at keeping them healthy so I've learned to adore them at a distance.

Murfreesboro, TN(Zone 7a)

Resin, your point is well-taken, however I think this is a stylistic preference rather than a grammatical mistake.

The word "for" is defined as "in honor of" (as well as "as a result of" and "because of")

http://www.answers.com/for

while "after" is similarly defined as "with the same or close to the same name, in honor or commemoration of"

http://www.answers.com/after

Fairfield County, CT(Zone 6b)

I just guessed and was wrong. But resin - do you just love the book "Eats, Shoots and Leaves"? Imagine a best seller on the subject of grammar!

(Zone 1)

So .... both "for" ( in honor of ) and "after" ( in honor, or commemoration of ) are correct, but in the grand scheme of things, it doesn't matter to me. I grow African Violet's and didn't vote because I didn't have a clue as to the correct answer! I love the voting booth, it's a lot of fun and I learn something along the way! As for "important grammatic distinctions .... in the grand scheme of life .... it doesn't matter to me.