Stages of Lunar Moth from Egg to Moth (hopefully)

Fernandina Beach, FL(Zone 8b)

Hi Everyone, I started this thread to document the development of the Luna Moth. When I first saw a LM in my backyard in March, I became intestate in their life cycles.

Thumbnail by Maria2354

Thanks to the website Butterflies and Moths of North America, I received LM eggs on 4/27/07.

Thumbnail by Maria2354

I ordered soufflé cups for the cats and the first ones hatched today. They eat sweet gum tree leaves, which are readily available in my backyard. Hope that they make it!

Thumbnail by Maria2354

Here are the new homes of the first cats

Thumbnail by Maria2354

Close up, you can even see the inhabitant :)

Thumbnail by Maria2354
Josephine, Arlington, TX(Zone 8a)

Maria, won't it be too hot for them in those cups in the sun?
Josephine.

Hi Josephine! Thank you for you input. Believe me, I am grateful for any suggestions/comments because I am very new to this. I keep the cats indoors per instructions that I received with the eggs and I only took the pic outside. I could have been more specific because with the new home, I was referring to the cups.

Now if I could only get all of them to eat...

Josephine, Arlington, TX(Zone 8a)

Now that makes sense, I just didn't know what you were doing.

(Becky) in Sebastian, FL(Zone 10a)

Maria - That is really cool getting those Luna Moth eggs/cats! I am jealous!!! LOL! Glad you started a thread about your new babies! I am excited for you!!! Keep posting photos as they grow. We are all interested in their progress.

AAAWW Becky, that is so sweet! Did you ever get your cats to eat? I am starting to have the same problem with mine. All of a sudden, I find all these imperfections on the leaves and want to remove them… The instructions recommend removing any galls or insects from the leaves before feeding and now, I see “spots” all over the leaves. I better stay away from lettuce for a while, LOL.