Shade Cloth

West Bridgewater, MA

hello guys,

I have tried the search mode but I have lots of trouble w/ it. It takes forever and never the question I ask..?
Sorry if this has benn covered a lot.

I would like to know more about shade cloth.

What the best colors are.? I heard that black might injure polycarbonate panels???
What % of shade is needed for different flowers and vegetables??.
What is the best material it is made from?

Is there a site I can go to to read all about it? I tried on the internet but got mostly ads for sale with very little real helpful information.

Anything you have to say will be a help to me.

Thanks,
Keywest

West Bridgewater, MA

One important question to me.

How much of the greenhouse do you actually cover?
Just the roof - both sides? Or do you continue doen the sides a little?

Take care,
Keywest

Mission Viejo, CA(Zone 10a)

I've only had my gh a few months, so I'm no expert, but I can tell you from personal experience that I'm not thrilled with my shadecloth. I'm thinking about ordering gh paint and using that, because the shadecloth covers the whole house and I only really need part of the top and front shaded.

What I really need is something for heat control. I've tried bubble wrap and that does reduce the temp, but not by more than 10 degrees. When you have a really small gh the light/heat problems are intensified. I probably wouldn't be having such a hard time with this if it were bigger.

Good luck!
Ann

Fulton, MO

Keywest, this is a start: http://faq.gardenweb.com/faq/lists/strucs/2002045746008090.html

Too much shade will reduce plant growth, but too much heat may have the same effect, so you have to find a balance. If mounting on the inside the Aluminet is a better product. I have heard about damage to PC from shade cloth...could be a myth, I don't know...but this is perhaps part of the rationale for suspending the shade cloth above the glazing when mounting on the outside.