Newbie transplant advice...

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

Hi , I have purchased these three little rubber plants. Each little square 2.75 inch plastic pot has three plants or stems and the top of the tallest leaf is approx. 8.5" from the base of the pot.

Maybe I went a little crazy buying three of them , but I just loved the look and color. I have had them for about two weeks and they keep getting new leaves curling out of a wonderful red fold/cover thing.
See,, newbie here.. lol

SOOO,,, I really need to transfer them. I know I shouldn't put them in too large of a pot.
At first I wanted to find a somewhat large in diameter pot that sat low and pot them all together.
But then I thought there would be too many of them. So today I purchased three pretty pots that have one drainhole at the bottom edge. (vs. the bottom middle of the pot).
The new pots are approx . 6" tall by 6.5" wide. Are these too big?

Any advice would really be appreciated! Thank you, Flowerlou.

Thumbnail by flowerlou
Taft, TX(Zone 9a)

Gosh, as healthy and growing as those are, I wouldn't hesitate to put them in a 6" pot....I like azalea pots best because most plants don't like the depth of a regular 6" pot....maybe someone else will jump in and say if the pots you are describing are too big....they are awesome looking....

(Zone 7b)

Most of us have killed a few dozen indoor plants over the years, from doing this very thing - wanting to transplant into bigger pots than needed. My personal experience with rubber plants, is that they love to be rootbound, so unless those little beauties are poking roots out the drainage holes, I'd leave them be for quite a while.

If you were to transplant them, they would most likely stop putting out top growth, and commence growing roots to fill the new pot.

If they get top-heavy, just put them, pot and all, into a ceramic pot a size larger, or a decorative pot.

They are amazingly shiny, aren't they, I can see why you couldn't resist!

(Zone 1)