To raise plants, vegetables or flowers to sell
(19 votes, 2%)
Red dot

Other?
(84 votes, 11%)
Red dot

Previous Polls

Wheatfield, NY(Zone 6a)

It really looks like everyone wants/needs fun & relaxation. That's definitely what I get out of gardening. I love to watch things grow. The excitement of watching for a seed to sprout. The anticipation of the first time a plant blossoms. The satisfaction of keeping something alive over a frigid northern winter. Having that much beauty in one's own back yard (or sun room). I'll grow anything and everything. Veggies that I don't eat...fruit that I know the birds will get to before I do. I let houseplants flower even if you're supposed to cut off the bloom spikes just because I want to see what they look like first. btw, purple passion (Gynura aurantiaca) is rumored to have orange flowers that clash with the foliage and STINK...believe the rumors!

Lewisville, MN(Zone 4a)

I have been growing for market for 22 years now. Always give on a rush to be able to provide something that makes people happy. After all these years, I am changing things this year. No plants sales this spring. With the very few hours available to sell & weather,(rain, wind,etc.), conditions at an outdoor market, we decided it was in our best interest to discontinue plants. We will still be raising our own veggie starts in the greenhouse. We are going to add cut flowers to our offering at market. That will be interesting & hopefully worthwhile. Our gladiolus have been gaining popularity.
Brought home the seed potatoes yesterday. Will probably plant some next week. I bought 700 lbs of Cascade, a white potato, 300 lbs of Red Norland, & 250 lbs of Yukon Gold. Yukon Gold sold real well last year. People kept asking for them after we ran out.
Best to all for this growing season.
Bernie

KC Metro area, MO(Zone 6a)

I grow for fun mainly. I like to see if I can improve my partial green thumb every year and it's a good excuse to be outside when it's nice out.