Growling in the woods, torn trees, need help.

Gladwin, MI(Zone 5a)

I walk in the woods same pattern every day with the dog. I never go into the swamp, or over the ridge alone. I know the animals are more scared of me, but I do not want to bug them. I have been walking for many years and have only been scared once before when a couple of large mean dogs came out of nowhere a half mile back in the woods and I was lucky to get back in one piece.
Friday I was walking as usual, not realizing that the ice did harden up overnight, without my yak traks, walking carefully around the ice on the trails while the dog was chasing a raccoon up a tree nearby when I heard a growl from over the ridge. I stopped, then again, I wasn't really sure what I was hearing, then really loud growl/yell. I got the dog and walked as quickly back to the house as I could with the ice, cursing at myself for not wearing the yaks. I then went to the store and got a big canister of bear spray. I have always felt safe in the woods and did not like being frightened. So I figure bear spray is good protection whatever it was growling at me. I could feel safe again. I am sure I will never have to use it, but it makes me feel better.