Can anyone give me the deal on rubber tree plants?

Shelburne Falls, MA(Zone 5a)

I bought a nice variegated one-I think it's 'Decora'. I love it but It grows nice new leaves but the lower ones brown on the edges, die, and fall off. Am I watering too much (once a week)? I have liquid fertilizer in the water. Not okay? I have it in little light because the leaves fell off more in full light. I used to have no trouble with a plain one in the past that was mostly neglected. Help!!

(Zone 1)

May be too much water, too much fertilizer, or both. These plants are drought tolerant, and for me seem to do better when kept on the dry side. Do not let the plant sit in water. Are you fertilizing every week? I think that's probably way too much fertilizer ... at this time of year, most plants are "resting" and don't need as much fertilizer or water.

Hopefully one of the more knowledgeable DG folks will respond. I am not an expert, but I think you are definately over fertilizing and possibly over watering too.

Good luck and keep us posted on how your Variegted Ficus is doing.

Lin

Thanks, Lin. This time of year is brutally hot and dry inside-the furnace rarely is stopping tonight with 3 degrees that feel like -9 degrees from windchill. It is practically an art form to figure out how to water!! But I will err on the dry side rather than wet from now on and see how it goes! Thanks, again.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)