What do you think is the best rooting hormone?

Lindenhurst, NY

I have something I obught at HD, Take root I think is the name by Schultz.

But I don't think this has a fungicide it it.

I was wondering what brand you have the best results with? And where do you buy it from?

Thanks
Maureen

Port Orchard, WA(Zone 8a)

maureenpm00, I've posted several threads on makeing your own Rooting solution. the problem with buying the name brands is freshness they all use Indole Butric Acid .1%as the active ingredient and some but not many add Naptha Acetic Acid .05% in either Talc powder or gel or water. I have been making my own rooting solution for 2 years, I make up 1 liter at a time and keep it in the fridge and throw unused after 6 weeks and make up new solution. I also use to spray on roots when transplanting or planting bareroot. I have Hostas that had a few roots when I received them in the spring, and by fall they had a full solid root ball. if you can bake a cake you can make your own. there are just a few steps in making up the solution. if you have any questions let me know, the supplier is listed in DG, as super-grow.biz you can make up for pennies instead dollars. Jim

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

Jim: I have a follow-up question (related to a separate post I made to this forum). When you make a liquid rooting solution, can you just stick a cutting into a glass of it and root it without a soil or soil-less medium? I understand the results might not be as good, but is that at least possible, or is the rooting solution too strong? And if that is possible, then can the same formula be added to a gel formulation that does not have rooting compound in it, so as to create a rooting gel (the goal being to save money over what is commercially available)?

Beautiful, BC(Zone 8b)

The best rooting hormone I find is Wilson's Roots with fungicide. I'm not sure if it's available in the US. www.wilson.nu-gro.com