Crocosmia

Caistor, United Kingdom(Zone 8b)

Hi Everyone

My name is Mark and i am from Lincolnshire in the UK.

I was just wondering if there are any other collectors of crocosmia out there somewhere.........
I have been collecting now for around 5 years and have around 235 varieties! In fact I have applied for National Collection Status........

So if anyone has any strange or new crocosmia, and want to share info and/or photos let me know!!

Hope there are some people out there that love crocosmia as much as i do

Thank you

Mark

Thumbnail by Mr_Crocosmia
(Zone 5a)

Hi Mark, nice to meet you! Great photo!
Over 200 varieties is really something! I love Crosmia too but unfortunately I've had no luck growing them :-( I have two pots in my greenhouse I planted this spring but they haven't flowered. My second try without luck. Are they hardy in your area? I'm not sure how to overwinter them, any pointers?

Hey Rannveig

Good to meet you too........... Thank you, I love taking photos of them!!
Oh dear, sorry to hear that you don't have much luck growing them!!
Depends what variety of crocosmia you have as to how hardy they are........... some are very tender and some are very hardy!!
Yes they are hardy here, as long as they are planted deep.......... by deep i mean six inches below soil level.
If you are overwintering them in this country i cover them with plant fleece and then put layers of leaves on the top of that!!!
I guess in your country its a lot colder than here, so i would say, take them indoors if they are in pots!! But keep the soil dry............ if they get wet in winter they will rot!!
stand them somewhere where they will be nice and cool, but frost free..........
Hope that helps

Mark

Sheffield, United Kingdom(Zone 7b)

Hello Mark,