Carex buchananii Hardiness

Holland, OH(Zone 5b)

Hello - I am a newbie to this forum. I just finished a new planting bed in the front yard with Juniperus squamata Blue Star, Chamaecyparis obtusa Golden Sprite, Carex oshimensis Evergold, Festuca glauca Elija Blue and Carex buchananii Copper Sedge. The Copper Sedge was purchased from a local garden center as a "Plants That Work" selection with a hardiness rating of zone 5. After planting the bed I realized that I could use two more Carex buchananii and as no more were available at the garden center I searched online. All I could find was Carex Buchananii Leather Leaf sedge with a hardiness rating of zone 7. Although I am firmly in zone 5, I ordered two anyway from Dove Creek Gardens (as well as the Evergold) hoping they are the same plant. They sure looked the same. Are they? What's up with Carex buchananii and its hardiness? Is Plants That Work just stretching the hardiness zones to sell more stuff? The copper sedge is just gorgeous, a real copper color. Even if hardy to 7 I would probably replant as an annual. Thanks for your help. Mary

Great South Bay, Lon, NY(Zone 7a)

Copper Sedge is Carex flagellifera, hardy to zone 7. I've also heard Carex comans 'Bronze Form' referred to as Copper Sedge, also zone 7. Carex buchanii is Leather Leaf Sedge, also zone 7. Carex oshimensis 'Evergold' is hardy to zone 6.

Hannibal, NY(Zone 6a)

Mary,

That sedge is variously rated from Z5 to 7. But it looks like the most reliable (in my opinion) ratings are about -10 degrees. Most of the brown or copper colored sedges are not hardy for us Z5. However, I think you have a shot with this one. Mulch them heavily, and especially if we have a mild winter they may make it thru.

I really enjoy the colors of the sedges, and use some for annuals here. I've found Walmart normally carries them.

I guess bottom line, they may or may not make it. Probably will depend on the winter we get. Last year we were never down below 0.