Advice for first cutting

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)

I received a cutting from a passion flower vine. Approx. 6" in length. I did not know what to do with it, and I did'nt have time to research it. So, I grabbed my bag of Miracle grow potting soil and the rooting hormone, cut at a angle the bottom end of the already cut vine about 1/2" below where the first leaf set and (i call them the hands) tandrils, then I pulled off the leaves and the tendril/hand and dipped the approx. 1" worth of the bottom stem in the hormone. Buried the whole portion of the dipped stem in the potting soil. lightly watered soil and plan to keep slightly moist till roots form. The leaves looked wilty and sick about 3 hrs. later.

Did I do anything wrong? This i have never done before. Never a vine. I really would like to keep it and grow more of them. There were no blooms on the vine i received. Any advice positve, negative, or other would be greatly appreciated.

AM I GONNA LOSE IT????????????????????????????

calvin

(Zone 6a)

Calvin - It sounds to me like you did the right thing! You could keep a baggie over it to make a mini greenhouse till it roots. I did that for my first hydrangea cutting and it worked well.
It's a little late but welcome to DG!

Steve

Sultan, WA(Zone 8a)

How many leaves are there? You don't want to many, I'd say only one or two. So the plant isn't stressed out trying to support leaves and can put its energy into roots. For that same reason, you also don't want to fertilize it. So maybe a soilless medium would work better. Like a seedling mix.
The roots may not come out of the cut end of the stem or the stem itself, I don't know about passion flower (never tried that), but in my experience with vines and other things, the roots develope were the leaves were attatched to the stem. So I usually try bury at least one or two of those points.
I'd keep a baggy over it too and shelter it from too much sun or heat.

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)

Thanks for all the advice: