Delphiniums?

Louisville, KY

What sort of growing conditions do Delphiniums like? I have tried them several times but can't get them to survive past the first or second year. Living in the Ohio River valley we have alkaline soil, and seems like the last several years we have had wet and cool springs, followed by hot dry summers. I would like to try them again (I'm a sucker for blue flowers), maybe if I knew more about the plant requirements it would help. Thanks.

Jim

Chicago, IL(Zone 5a)

Great question! I have the same problem. I tried "Summer Night" and "Blue Butterfly" two years in a row and none of them came back up. :-(

Southern, CT(Zone 6a)

I'll pile on here 'cause I've had the same struggle.

Chicago, IL(Zone 5b)

Hi everyone,

I'll answer even though I'm not an expert by any means. I just love my delphiniums and they do well here. I know they are a short-lived perennial so having them die after several years isn't uncommon. They like alkaline soil but hate hot, dry weather. I have some that are on their 3rd year but with last summer's drought and heat I did lose three. They seem to do well for me planted in partial shade. The ones I lost were planted on the sunny side of my house and the ones planted in partial shade out of the wind grew about a foot taller than the others. It was interesting to see.

I always buy the smaller plants in the 4" pots rather than anything larger. For some reason they adapt better and yet still bloom the first year. Also, I don't mulch them over the winter. Can't remember where but I did read they don't like or need it.

Hope this helps.

Keene, NH(Zone 5a)