Whats everyone growing this year?

(Zone 6a)

Hello, Everyone! I'm new to DG. I just signed up yesterday. My name is Steve and I live in Southern Ontario, Canada.

A while back I bought seeds from a place called William Dam Seeds and spent around 40$.....thats alot for me to spend on seeds! I bought Painted Tounge, Ammi, Pink Babies Breath, Moonflower Vine, Safflowers, Canary Bird Vine, Balsam and many more....which I'm going to start in my cold frame soon!

I also got Clarkia(which is sprouting), Larkspur and California Poppies which I sowed already outside :)

Tips and advice on these would be great as I've never grown any of them before! I grew the Cal poppies before but only 2 came up and I tried to move them and they died. Which ones are good in containers?
I've also got Shirly Poppies coming up which I've grown before.

So, that's what I've got! Whats everyone else growing?

This message was edited Mar 31, 2006 2:10 PM

Stockport, OH(Zone 6b)

Hi Steve and Welcome to Dave's Garden!
I have a small greenhouse so have a lot of plants in there, most are only a couple inches tall at the moment. Let's see....so far I have...celosia (called ruffles),snapdragons,two colors of alyssum,veronica,salpiglossis(which I think is also called Painted Tongue),petunias,morning glories,forget me nots,two kinds of centurea, zinnias (planted yesterday) tomatoes,hot peppers and bell peppers, two big pots of geraniums kept over from last year,asparagus ferns,century plants,spider plants,coreopsis,Easter egg plants,hardy hibiscus, and gobs of aloe!

Can't give you much advice on the things you asked about except the painted tongue is really really tiny when it first comes up and takes a while to get big enough to plant outside, but is gorgeous when it blooms!!

(Zone 6a)