Which containers work best?

Southern, CT(Zone 6a)

This is new to me and I'm excited to give it a try. When folks have discussed containers, some recommend containers which can accommodate 6 inches of soil, others say Chinese food tins. That is quite a difference in depth. Can I use regular old seed flats? This would be a great use for my old flats that have begun leaking at the corners.

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

I am using gallon milk/water jugs. I've also tried fresh pasta container - similar to the larger plastic salad containers at salad bars. This is my first year too, so I am curious to see what works. I do know that many have had success with the gallon containers. If you peruse the threads in this forum, some people have even posted pictures of their containers

Murfreesboro, TN(Zone 7a)

Two years ago, I started 3 or 4 flats of "jumbo" sized six-packs (I've got a ton of them) @ 36 cells per flat.

I also have the "mesh-type" flats that hold six jumbo flats each. For each six cellpacks I used two flats - one under the cell packs, then one flipped over on top to keep out birds and critters while still letting in plenty of sun, rain and snow (what little we get here) in.

I really need to go through my seeds and get started. (Our weather has been so warm, it hasn't seemed feasible to try winter sowing this year, but maybe we'll get some colder temps in February.....)

Brooklyn, NY(Zone 7b)

Deeper is always better, but if your container can hold at least 3" of soil, it'll be okay. The soil will compact down a bit, so you really don't want to start out with too much less than 3". I've used the seed flats, with each cell filled to the top, and last year I used the "jumbo" sized six-packs that Terry mentions; they work fine, but when they start to germinate and the weather starts to warm up, you will have to be more mindful of watering.