Bargain Violets

Northern California, CA(Zone 9a)

Well, I went out on a limb and bought 12 african violets from D & P greenhouse who are going out of business. I figured since I'm pretty new to the whole 'keep the AV alive' idea, it would be a fair gamble to spend
about $30 for a 'grab bag' of violets.
Well it seems that it was well worth the gamble. Here's a list of what came.

Anastasia
White Madonna
Jeanette
Buckeye Country Gal
Malakai
Irish Kiss (YEA!!)
Hearts a Glow
Apache Halo
Red Lantern
Apache Feathers
and
Christine and one more that I didn't write the name down yet. I'll go in the house and edit this post a bit later.
Here are some photos of them. Plus the new AV shelf where they are going. I just got this put together and got the new noid's planted into their self watering pots. Now I can look at the fish and violets when I wake up! Lights and heating mat have been ordered so that they will be happy campers. This is the new 'isolation' room where all new violets will go until deemed safe and healthy. I'll be putting leaves down in my 'experiment' as soon as the heat mat arrives.

Last one that I couldnt remember is Tiger

edited to change Leanette to Jeanette. And add Tiger to the list of new av's.

This message was edited Dec 17, 2005 3:29 PM

Thumbnail by begoniacrazii

Here they are all out of their packaging.

Here's Anastasia (i think)

And finally, their new 'isolation booth'. It doesn't 'fit' the decor. But does fit the decorator!