Problems with Watering

Albuquerque, NM(Zone 7a)

Hi, I'm new to Dave's Garden. I've been growing houseplants since I was a kid...well, cactus and aloe, anyway :-). A several years ago an aunt gave me some spider plantlets and pothos cuttings, and I have done well with those. Other house plants I have tried-ficus, palms, dracaena-and haven't done very well. Usually I wait until the soil seems dry, water until water runs out the bottom, and then remove the excess water. The plants seem to do well for several weeks, and even put out new growth. Then, almost over night, they become dry and crispy. The leaves do not brown (they remain green), and when I depot the plant there are enough roots to hold the entire soil ball together. I buy plants in 3-inch pots, and plant them in 4-inch terra cotta-so the root system does expand some before the plant dies.

I am not sure I understand the definition of "dry to the touch," "constant moisture," and "average watering" I find listed in various plant books + website. Could you give me any advice?

Provo, UT(Zone 5b)

When you take them out of the pot is the soil dry through the rootball? Potting soils have a lot of peat in them and if that stuff dries out it is a real beast to rewet through to the middle of the rootball, the water will run right down the sides of the pot and out the bottom without really 'watering' the plant. I've had plants that looked to be suffering so I took them out of the pot and the soil around the rootball seemed to be moist but when I get to the middle of the rootball it's dry as a bone. This is a real problem with plants I buy at places like home depot, if they let it dry too much before they water it will live long enough for them to sell it but not very long for the buyers. Now I completely remove most of the soil from those plants before I pot them up at home to make sure the middle of the rootball is getting water.

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)