Hanging Baskets

Culpeper, VA(Zone 7a)

I have lovely east, south, & west wall-to-wall floor-to-ceiling windows in my living room & have been thinking of doing some nice hanging baskets.

Problem is that the only hanging baskets that seem to be available are those plastic or plastic/wire hanger types.

Does anyone here have/use anything different?

for inside, I use (and sometimes even make my own) decorative macrame or colored rope hangers. Color coordinated to match decor and etc. I haven't tried these inside due to their weight, but outside i like to use vintage or antique wrought iron hanging baskets with coconut liners. I just love the old scroll work, it can be beautiful and ornate. I haven't tried them inside for fear of putting holes in the dry wall, but I'm not a hardware expert. It probably can be done.

I've found alot of my antique baskets at second hand stores, or good deals at antique shops. Ebay is also a good source for them and for more modern replicas.

Garberville, CA(Zone 9a)

Another "new" trend in the Garden Center world that I've seen this year, are terra cotta pots with chain hangers. I ended up buying two, one for my spider plant, and another for an as-yet undecided plant.

I have a co-worker who likes to tell me that I have a 'pot' problem. I usually agree, while buying yet *another* pot for my houseplants! Oh, well. Life is about variety, right?

Lori

SW, WI(Zone 4b)

I've seen lots of baskets similar to those that ladyrowan describes, and also wicker baskets with a plastic liner, also with chain hangers. I often place 2 or 3 pots inside of these baskets, rather than planting the plant *directly in* the basket.

The places I find these are usually well-stocked private nurseries/greenhouses, particularly those with gift-shops.

Culpeper, VA(Zone 7a)