Coleus from Seed

Olympia, WA(Zone 7b)

I just got seeds for some coleus plants, which I intend to grow as houseplants. Shall I wait until the weather gets warmer/lighter to plant them, or will they do fine indoors if I start them now?

Saint Peters, MO(Zone 6a)

Danak, I'm by no means an expert, but I have started my coleus seeds. They are doing great. I just make sure they have good light. I have them under flourescent shop lights. They germinated quickly & I have them in cell packs. They are one of the few seeds I have that I could start.

Thumbnail by Prism
Saint Peters, MO(Zone 6a)

Here's a closer picture.
Hope that encourages you to start planting. : )

Thumbnail by Prism
Olympia, WA(Zone 7b)

Yes, that did encourage me! I'm sure I'll be planting soon. A few people at work have coleus growing in their offices, but I'm interested to see the different coloring from the mix of seeds I have. And if I end up getting a ton of plants, I know some people I can give them to! Thanks so much for the information.

--DanaK

Seattle, WA(Zone 8b)

danak, I grew LOTS from seed last year....my only mistake was not being a good caretaker after they'd sprouted. I am one of those people who just HATE to thin out plant babies. My seedlings grew very very slowly till I finally did a good hard thinning, than they just took off and grew like 'weeds'.
I now have full size plants all over the house.
I have been snipping off branches and rooting them in jars of water in every avilable window in the house. Should have WAY to many plants by Spring.
You'll do fine with the seed.....just give them good light, and thin them out early for best results.

Marc

Olympia, WA(Zone 7b)