Newbie Question

Paris, TX(Zone 8a)

I just wanted to know if I can take some clippings of my Pothos Ivy, and try to make new plants, or do I need to wait until spring? I've never done this before, and I'm just a bit curious.

Jennifer

Tillamook, OR(Zone 8b)

It's been my experience that you can root pothos any time any where!!! As a matter of fact, I am rooting a half, well more than half dead pothos vine now, I haven't watered the poor thing since we decided to move and that was at the beginning of July! It seems to be working, I haven't found a pothos yet that I could kill!!!
Raven

Paris, TX(Zone 8a)

Thank you, Raven. Do I just clip some off, and put it in water until I see roots? Do I need a root stimulater? Do I need a special potting mix? I've never done this before.

Tillamook, OR(Zone 8b)

Yes, I just cut it and put it into water, I usually clip one long vine into 3 or 4 sections and put them into a glass of water cuz I like to watch the roots grow and then when they are ready I have a nice basket already since I have 4 cuttings! :O)

I think they must have their own rooting hormone so you won;t need anything else, just the glass and water, at least that has been my experience.

Alot of people say that you need to pot them up as soon as the roots get about an inch or so in the water, but I've never done that, I always let them get to be about 5 or 6 inches or longer, and have alot of new growth before I plant them~sshhh, don't tell anyone, I'm a procrastinator!!! :O) And, I never use any special potting soil, just the regular stuff you usually buy should work.

Good luck, these are definitely easy and one of my favorites because they will grow no matter what!!!

Raven

Paris, TX(Zone 8a)

Thank you. This is going to be fun to see if I can make a new plant. lol