Daylilies leaves

Rehoboth, MA(Zone 5a)

A master gardener told me he cuts the leaves of day lilies after the bloomed to encourage new leaves before winter. I am under the impression the leaves will encourage next years grows and not to cut them. What is the right thing to do?

Edgewater, MD(Zone 7a)

I dont cut mine down at all and they grow back just fine, I just take off any that are dead. Also noticed alot of new leave growth after the blooms are gone.
Did he say what the importance was for all the new leaf growth? Just curious, I thought the main importance was for rootgrowth, but then again Im just a newbie and still have alot to learn.
Someone will come on to say if its a good idea or makes a difference or not

Rehoboth, MA(Zone 5a)

I understood it was for improving the appearance of a garden
but I still wonder if it is detrimental to the lily without leaves feeding the root system.

Edgewater, MD(Zone 7a)

Try posting this question or a link to this thread in the Daylily forum. Much more people who know will see it and you can most likely get an answer alot faster. This is a very intersting question to me.

Oostburg, WI(Zone 5b)

I'm interested too - just started in daylilies. Perhaps you could ask Dave to move the whole thread for you. Post that in the Dave's Garden forum, aria. :)

"down the Shore", NJ(Zone 7a)

aria, I see no reason to cut the leaves back-- leaves are what manufacture food for the plant. The roots are no doubt well-established already... so I think leave them. Also, what would be the point of new leaves before winter? I see you are in MA, perhaps the MG was speaking of people growing evergreen daylilies in the warmer zones like FL.

This would be a good question for the Daylily Forum-- I'd like to hear everyone's replies also!

Rehoboth, MA(Zone 5a)

No, is from Rhode Island but we do have very early Daylilies blooming along with Iris, the yellow and purple together is very beautiful.