First time planting a 15 gallon rose bush with prickles.

Sierra Foothills, CA(Zone 8a)

I guess that you have to say that I am a novice when it comes to rose gardening.

I have been working o putting together a White Flower Border. I have a white Lady Banks rose on one side of the arbor, but it only blooms once, though really quite spectacular. I bought it as a one gallon plant. Last year, it didn't even bloom, and hardly grew. This year is different, though It is still quite small, it already has some blooms on it.

So on the other side of the arbor, I planted a climbing ' Iceberg'. I ordered it from my nursery, but I didn't realize that it would be a 15 gallon rose! I will show you the picture of how I did it.

Yes, I wrapped 2 empty mulch sacks around the bush, and then asked my husband to pull. It came right out , but for some reason I was unable toI do it alone. I remember that I save those bags for thorny twigs to put in the trash, as regular trash bags won't be sufficient to protect anyone who handles it. I happen to have some of those bags, so I put them to good use.

Thumbnail by evelyn_inthegarden Thumbnail by evelyn_inthegarden
Elgin, IL(Zone 5a)

Evelyn, did they actually order it for you? And give you such a large rose?

That's fantastic!!!!! What a great nursery. I know it's a bit of a problem to plant but how nice of them to do this for you.

Donna

Donna ~ Yes, they special ordered this for me. I did not specify size, I just asked if they could order one. It is planted. Should I have my husband fix some kind of strong wires for these roses to climb?

These pictures aren't very good, but you get the idea.

Thumbnail by evelyn_inthegarden Thumbnail by evelyn_inthegarden Thumbnail by evelyn_inthegarden Thumbnail by evelyn_inthegarden
Elgin, IL(Zone 5a)