Heat mat and excessive drying of soil

Portland, OR

Hi all,

I am new on the forum and have been reading some wonderful stuff on here. I am a newbie at seed starting, and I am having some issues either with bad seeds or maybe my heat mat. Most of my seedlings I have are doing very well but they are not on the heat mat. But, I happen to have 3 trays on a heat mat and have excessive drying in those trays. I did not do anything different during planting. The lights are the same. I am using a soilless seedling mix. And I did have humidity domes over the trays. I have now taken them off as they did not seem to be helping. The same drying whether they are on or off. I have pretty much given up on the seeds in them. They are 72 cell trays, they sit in a 1020 tray on top of the heat mat. I only have a few sprouts in each and I planted in mid-jan. I have re-ordered my seeds in case I got a bad batch, but I don't want to have the same thing happen when I replant. I don't know if the seeds were bad, and I have different flowers in each tray. 3 types of Begonias in one, Marine Bells in one with 1 row of Impatiens, and Amethyst in the other with 1 row of the same Impatiens. I am wondering if anyone can tell me if it is typical to have excessive drying with a heat mat and maybe get some idea for a solution. Will appreciate any info #frustrated

Elgin, IL(Zone 5a)

I'm just taking a guess here, but I think that a heat mat plus lights is overkill. I don't use them in combination. My lights raise the temperature to the 70 degrees necessary for germination. A heat mat tends to raise the temperature 10 to 20 degrees more. I think that the combination is actually creating too much heat for your plants. The excessive drying, I think, is a signal. The only seeds I put on heat mats are heliotrope, which require very high heat for germination. I use heat mats only with standard lighting, not plant lighting.