Forcing blooms or encouraging blooms on Christmas cactus

Palatine, IL(Zone 5b)

I have a healthy small cactus that I repotted this year to a 9 inch pot from a 4 inch pot. It had lived for 20 years in the small pot, forming a very woody stem and exhibiting good health.

Now it is suffering just a bit from transplant but still healthy. I have it under bright artificial light 18 hours a day at a temp of 62 degrees.

What can I do to promote blooming?
and why is there not a link to post a picture?

Thank you.

Prescott, AZ(Zone 7b)

Hi there. I am no expert but my Christmas cactus, and I have several, bloom every December without fuss. I treat it like any other houseplant, water it when it is dry, feed it simple house plant food every watering. They sit on my bedroom windowsill which only gets minimal sun as I live in a wooded canyon. My bedroom stays between 60 and 72 degrees and it only receives the light that comes in the south-face window. I have a tendency to think "to much light" for your cactus. They really do bloom in late Fall and it may just be missing the signal.

I found this site with some interesting ideas:
http://leon.ifas.ufl.edu/news_columns/2003/122503.pdf

Lake Stevens, WA(Zone 8a)

I agree with Dee. That is how I treat mine. I have also noticed that some fertilizerin spring and summer is appreciated.

Prescott, AZ

Hi reddog, the "Post a reply" space has an "upload images" area below the box I'm typing in. I'm not too good on the computer but have managed to drag in a picture or two, so I figure anyone can do it!
I'm not sure what kind of cactus you have, it would be helpful to see a picture. A lot of plants have blooming triggered by the change from longer to shorter days, or vice versa, so continuous unchanging light might have something to do with it. Also make sure it drys out well between waterings, and go very easy on fertilizer.

Prescott, AZ

Whoops, I just realized you are talking about Christmas cactus, sorry! I think the link that