So....WHO'S EXCITED FOR SPRING!?!?!?!

Lititz, PA(Zone 6b)

I have to tell you I've been amped up for Spring in a big way with all this sub zero weather of late (1 day so far but still too much!) The countdown has actually been on since the beginning of November for me. The first herald of spring in our yard is our Hamamelis Intermedia x Arnold's Promise. It's so beautiful in the spring and the flowers smell so delightful. I'll be looking forward to this 3rd week of February. I've been putting a very LARGE shopping list together over the winter. Mostly from Lazy S&S and Bluestone but a couple oddball places too. I'm going to plant a xeric garden in a very dry sunny area of our yard. The only gardening related things I've gotten to do are spray WiltPruf on a Cryptomeria Sekkan Sugi and desperately tend to over wintering Dahlias; this is my first attempt at that. Luckily, I've had a lot of help from fellow Dahlia lovers (Pirl and others). Anyway, I just thought it's about time someone started a CAN'T WAIT FOR SPRING thread :)

Why not share what you've been up to this winter and perhaps your favorite herald of spring?

Saylorsburg, PA(Zone 6a)

I just completed my seed orders for new tomato varieties and a number of new vegetables and flowers as well as replacements. Next I will tackle possible perennial plants with Bluestone and other companies. But in general I think I will buy more plants locally. Counting the days like you. I hate the cold anymore even though the snow looks pretty. Shoveling is no longer pretty! But with the computer I can go all over and "window" shop for all kinds of possibilities. Still have to wait 2 months to start my seedlings! In the meantime I have drawn up plans to make a grow light from PVC piping. The porch where I have a whole grow light set-up is too cold until the end of April so I will need a temporary grow light in the bedroom. There are many wonderful sources on the web with great do it yourself designs and demonstrations.