What is it ?

Brisvegas, Australia(Zone 12b)

I have been growing this Cacti for three years.
I never thought of finding out what it is. ^_^
The only place I have ever seen it is at Stanthorpe and that's where I got my first piece.
They grow wild at Stanthorpe. (completely feral)
So they must really like the cold.
Stanthorpe is the only part of this State where it Snows every year.

Thumbnail by ginger749
Los Angeles, CA(Zone 10a)

Sure looks like Echinopsis flowers and bodies from here. I'm not good at species typing Echinopsis. Do you have a close-up photo to help other ID helpers?
--
dean
http://sentientmeat.net/

Hi Dean,

I do have many close-ups of the Flower.
But that link in your reply had me really interested. (did you take those pictures ?)

I love watching documentaries from all over the world.
The Rock Formation on your Link @ http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/9/91/Tsingy_Ankarana_Madagascar_16-07-2004.JPG/1280px-Tsingy_Ankarana_Madagascar_16-07-2004.JPG looks like where all the Marmosets live ? Is that right ?

Link did not work at first. ^_^

This message was edited Nov 23, 2011 7:49 AM

Oh good, I'm glad you like! It's a new series of mini-profiles and very much a work in progress. I write the posts and snap the lead pictures (posted under nom de plume Sentient Meat) with my handy point-and-shoot. The other photos I credit to the individual photographers (wherever I can find the attribution) and typically link to their web location.

The last photo in the latest post -- of the tsingy (limestone formations) at Ankarana -- was re-posted from the Ankarana National Park website, I believe. They say Ankarana may have the highest density of primates in the world.
http://www.wildmadagascar.org/conservation/parks/Ankarana.html