Comfort food for the New Year!

Fredericksburg, VA(Zone 7a)

We came from here... http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1060704/
It's been so fun and enlightening, I thought we'd keep it going!

Along with cooking up some black-eyed peas for tomorrow's New Year's Day dinner, I am going to try cooking up some of doc's corn meal mush/polenta! That really sounds good to me and I have never tried polenta before. I cannot find prepared polenta anywhere! Where is it in the stores??? The pineapple and coconut sounds really yummy... pina colada mush!

Our dinner tomorrow will be chicken in the crockpot with three kinds of squash, black-eyed peas, rice, spinach salad (in place of the greens I don't have the courage to try and cook!), and rolls! What else are you supposed to eat for good luck??? My daughters said pomegranates, but I couldn't find them at the grocery store this afternoon.

So, what are you making for New Year's? What's your family traditions?

Thumbnail by VA_Wild_Rose
Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)

I've gone through a phase of always making black eyed peas o f some kind for New Years Eve, or Hoppin John, . THis year has been sort of unorganized
8 ^]
and we went to Panera Bread this after noon around 2 30 so I am not hungry and don't feel like cooking! Nyah! Looks like leftovers for those who are sticking around. Part of the lack of enthusiasm is kids are getting to that age where you never know if they're going to fly out the door.

Dover, PA(Zone 6b)