Introducing myself

Palominas, AZ(Zone 8b)

Hello all and I'm happy to have found this site.

I originally came here looking for information on predators but started reading other posts (LOVE the home made incubator and we're digging out the Omaha Steaks cooler tomorrow) and decided this was a nice community for belonging. I am a freelance journalist and I write primarily about travel, mostly for AAA. Recently, though, I did some articles about some celebrities with another coming up in February, which I kind of dread since celebrities think everyone wants to talk about Hollywood and, frankly, I don't care. But the next one is about a blues club/restaurant in Mississippi so it should go well! Anyway... I live with my husband of 17 years as well as our15 year old son, a shepherd/lab mix, Kiva, a pug, Dexter, and a coonhound, Daisy. Our two oldest are married with kids of their own (and it's a yours, mine and ours deal) so the empty nest period is looming!

I live in SE Arizona and raise Delawares and New Hampshires, as they are prolific and extra large egg layers - beautiful to boot. Recently, I've had some hens killed by "something" and we've been at our wit's end trying to keep the critter out that is responsible. We finally bought a live trap at Lowe's to capture it.

A friend loaned us one on Friday, which was large enough for squirrels. The hole it had dug under the yard was extremely small so we thought, "Okay, this should do it." It didn't. Critter got in, pushed through the small door in the side of our barn that allows the chickens to go in and out at will to either the coop or yard. The door wasn't locked at the top because my husband thought the door was warped (it wasn't, it had dirt crusting the hinges) and so he closed it as best he could and set a heavy roost in front of it. The critter bypassed the live trap and pushed its way through the door, killing its fourth hen in so many days.