Can you identify these epimedium please?

Jamaica Plain, MA(Zone 6a)

Here's the first one.

Thumbnail by perenniallyme

Another pic of the same one. Sorry, the flowers are almost gone.

Another one. Thanks for any help.

This message was edited May 10, 2009 10:45 PM

W'Ville, WA

Looks like my E. x rubrum to me, but I'm no expert. -Au

Thanks, Au. I just looked at that one in plantfiles, and the 1st one does look like that. Sometimes it's hard for me to tell using plantfiles, because people post such contradictory pictures, that you don't know which ones are right, but most of those seem to match. Do only some species get the red tinges on the leaves, or do all of them at some time or other - do you know?

Calgary, AB(Zone 3b)

I agree that your first one is likely Epimedium x rubrum. The red-edged, red-veined young leaves are characteristic of it, but many other epimedium cultivars/species have colourful spring foliage colouration in various reds and browns.

I'd guess the second one is E. x youngianum 'Roseum'.

You could post these over at the ID forum, if you'd like the experts to look at them.

Thanks, Alta. I'll have a look at that one.
I wasn't even aware of the ID forum. I'll have to check it out. I just figured that the closest category I could find (do epimediums qualify as rock garden/alpine plants?) would have the most experts seeing the post. Am I wrong?

I just found the plant ID forum, and someone asked about the very same (1st) epimedium there yesterday, and, alta, you answered the same as AuNatural , so I'm going to assume that that one's solved. Thanks, both of you.

Calgary, AB(Zone 3b)