Protecting Iris from Voles

Norristown, PA(Zone 6b)

Please, I'm looking for some advice. The vole population in my gardens is unbelievable and I've fought a major battle with them. I have lots of experience protecting my Hostas, shrubs and bulbs from those beasties, but not Iris.

This year (for the first time) I had a number of established Iris not return and I'm assuming it's the voles. The shape and growth patterns of the Rhizomes makes them somewhat unsuitable for hardware cloth pots. What does everyone do? I will miss my lovelies and don't want to lose more. Thank you.

Clearfield, PA(Zone 5a)

I had major damage this year from voles but they didn't bother the Iris--mostly just my daylilies. They eat all the roots and almost killed everything. Did you use some kind of a killer on them?

Norristown, PA(Zone 6b)

hugeposiepatch, My gosh, I'd heard that they don't eat daylilies. OH NO!!!! I've seen them hide under my DL, but they've never damaged any. I used several poisons, but the #'s killed never kept up with the #'s born. They quickly learn to avoid the poisons, so you have to keep changing types. Unfortunately, putting poison out also kills their predators.

Clearfield, PA(Zone 5a)

Someone else said to try mousetraps. She said it was the only way to get them. Use slices of apples for bait. I cleaned my gardens up--I had groundcovers around my daylilies--I took them out. I don't seem to have as many voles anymore but I am still watching.

Norristown, PA(Zone 6b)

hughposiepatch, I tried that last month. First with pnutbutter, then apples. 40 traps were all sprung & food gone, but no dead critters!!

Yes, I have removed all ground covers too. They are there!!!

South Hamilton, MA

A friend stick poisen in PCB pipes so feral cats can't get at it. They used to sue traps with peanut butter in the holes but obviously gave that up.

Clearfield, PA(Zone 5a)