Please ID

Palestine, TX(Zone 8b)

Here is the clem I bought at Lowes last Fall. It had no tag. It is a deep burgundy color with lime green center. It is stunning against the green of the woods behind it. Anyone know what it is?

Thumbnail by Texasgrower
(Zone 4a)

Very pretty! Love the colour! Sorry I am not good at identifying.

Willis, TX(Zone 8b)

It looks to me like Clematis "Niobe"..
http://www.clematis.hull.ac.uk/new-clemdetail.cfm?dbkey=27
I have this one and it does have a tinge of green in the anthers....Jeanne

Normal, IL

Scroll down to maybe #32 (number will change but not that far down), I asked the same question. My pic is an adult version of your youngster.

Beautiful, both yours and mine.

East Texas, United States(Zone 8a)

looks like niobe to me also. Very high on my want list. TXGrower what is the gizmo to the left of your clematis?

Palestine, TX(Zone 8b)

I thought it was Niobe. What a stroke of luck huh?

Vossner, the object is a solar light. This clem along with Blue Lights, sits on top of a rock wall. I was standing on top of the wall looking down on the plant.

Goodman, I will try to go find yours. Thanks for the ID guys. Your the best. :)

East Texas, United States(Zone 8a)

I'm lusting after Blue Lights BIG time!

Delaware, OH

niobe.the central bar will become more predominant if it s in sun and the bloom lasts a while

Central, AL(Zone 7b)

On 7b zone, my Niobe is now but a foot tall coming back from the ground up. Those are beautiful blooms! Congrats.

Palestine, TX(Zone 8b)

Blue Lights is a smaller blossom than I expected. Looks very delicate. My Pink Flamingo has a few buds I can't wait to see. Dr Ruppel is going nuts. I can't even count all the blossoms and buds on it.

Niobe's blossoms do last a long time. I have eight more clems coming. These are rewarding plants to have.

Delaware, OH

mature niobe who is pruned back twice each season. plant usually self prunes and breaks in winter even tho very protected location.