Has anybody tried strawberries in straw bales?

Thonotosassa, FL

Has anybody tried strawberries in straw bales?

Eatonton, GA(Zone 8b)

Hey there Aramblinrose! I am trying Strawberries. this is my first attempt at Strawbaling. so we will see how it goes! So far My little plants are really doing well.
I am experimenting with just a few plants right now but I am considering putting in a few more.

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8a)

I planted strawberries last year and they did great. I didn't do a thing with them all year and now, this year they are doing magnificent. I will take a picture and let you all see. I just had some compost delivered and then delivery man was going nuts about my strawbale strawberries. I guess the second year makes all the difference. This is a picture from last year.

Thumbnail by Gourdbeader
San Antonio, TX(Zone 8a)

Okay, here is this years crop so far. Lots of blossoms. That is a good sign.

Thumbnail by Gourdbeader
San Antonio, TX(Zone 8a)

One more view

Thumbnail by Gourdbeader
Wake Forest, NC

Gourdbeader: those bales look like they barely changed since last year. What type of straw did you use?

We love strawberries, so now I'm going to have to allocate some bales for that, too, next year! :-)

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8a)

I used wheat straw bales as they produce the least amount of seed. They appear to not have changed but up close they have broken down alot. The ones on the far right that don't have the strawberries have lots of mushrooms coming up so I know that means that they are breaking down and making lots of good mulch for next year. ummm....

Wake Forest, NC

OK, in the pics the bales just looked so squared up compared to mine from last year.

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8a)

Well, I guess I just baby mine more. I haven't done anything special to them but they are fairly protected in the yard. My little furry four legged friend makes sure that they are watered regularly . Maybe that is what has preserved them. heheh