New trader seeks advice

Pittsburgh, PA(Zone 5b)

I'm asking around to find out if anyone has any suggestions for separating tiny little seeds from their "stuff". When I was just saving for myself, I didn't mind the chaff and stuff in there. But as a trader, I'd like to be much neater.

I'm good with tweezers, but my eyesight isn't the best. I enjoy "winnowing", but the little guys I was working with last night wanted to fly away with their chaff!

Currently I am using tweezers and some strainer-like mason jar lids designed for sprouting alfalfa sprouts and stuff in the kitchen. I have 2 sizes and this system pretty well for most things. But I'd sure like to know how to do it better and/or faster/easier!

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

Strainers are good. I do well with most seeds by crunching them around to break up the chaff, letting them dry a few days, then swirling them in a bowl (shallow rim) or plate while blowing on them so the lighter chaff puffs away. Do this over a tray or counter until you get the hang of blowing just the chaff and not also the seeds.

Some seeds (little ones with fluff especially) just don't separate well... and I just mark the packages "w/chaff."

Altamonte Springs, FL

I clean out as much as I can & then I just put a note on my Have's list like: "some chaff"

It's to be expected & doesnt hurt the seeds no one should be that picky about it, as long as the plant grows.

My grandmother used to use a tobbaco (sp?) grinder & it worked well, but the seeds/flower heads needed to be completely dry.

Stephanie

Emory, TX(Zone 8a)

I have found that sometimes seeds roll and the chaff doesn't, so you can put seeds with chaff on something like maybe a cookie sheet and then tilt until the seeds roll away from the chaff. It is a bit tricky and won't work with flat seeds, just round ones. Also this is assuming that the seeds are not staill attached to the chaff. I did something like that with celosia seeds just recently.