Help for newly addopted irises

Corrales, NM(Zone 7a)

I am new to irises and was offered some irises that needed a new home so I went and dug them up. After dividing and cleaning and getting ready to plant I have a few questions. Most of the plants looked absolutely perfect, only a bit overgrown. It took me a few hours to clean them up and now I have a few questions. I saw maybe 5-6 little grubby worms. I am wondering if they are probably iris borers. None of the leaves or rhizomes showed any sort of holes that I would assume a "boring" (LOL I guess that is how to spell it) worm would make. I killed all that I found, I am just wondering if before I plant them all over my yard if there is any preventative measures I might use to make sure they don't come back, I assume there may be eggs that I don't see?

Also there was one batch that I kept away from everything else which seems to have aphids? Again, I am thinking of just dunking them or spraying them with the soap solution before I plant and just keep them isolated.

There were over 106 full size plants, some with babies attached still. Then there were over 30 mini plants that were smaller than 4 in but had at least a few leaves and some good roots. So, out of that many I saw maybe 5 or 6 of the grubs. Then the ones with aphids are not in that number and there are probably 30 or so of those that need to be treated.

I guess I am going to be learning a lot about irises.

Thumbnail by LissaD
Corrales, NM(Zone 7a)

Here is the grub worm.

Thumbnail by LissaD
Corrales, NM(Zone 7a)

Here are what I am assuming are aphids.

This message was edited Oct 30, 2008 9:04 AM

Corrales, NM(Zone 7a)

try again :)

Thumbnail by LissaD
Tolleson, AZ(Zone 9a)

I would say iris borer but I am to new to iris to know what to do about them. I know some of the more knowledgeable (sp) people will check in with all the right answers!

South Hamilton, MA